A leading contributor of science and knowledge through discoveries.

 

Welcome to the Pediatric Resident Research Webpage.

Residency training is multidimensional and programs are designed to provide trainees with skills in various areas of medicine. Within the Department of Pediatrics at the University of Manitoba, all residents are expected to complete a scholarly project, which in most cases involves the completion of a research project. The purpose of the research component of the of residency training is to expose residents to the scientific methods, provide skills necessary to properly evaluate research papers and, for some, provide an opportunity to foster the skills necessary to become a clinician investigator.

The resident research committee is designed to facilitate the completion of your residency research program by providing guidance, education, support and continued feedback throughout your training. The committee is made up of epidemiologists, clinicians and residents committed to ensuring you receive the highest quality education and support through this process.

The current webpage is designed to be a central node for residents to provide information pertaining to research. We have created a list of available mentors and projects, timelines and a calendar with events that relate to your research program and a series of resources to help you complete your project.

Please use the contact information below to connect with the resident research committee coordinator if you have questions about this process.

Regards,

Pediatric Resident Research Committee

Contact:

Debbie Duprey
Assistant to Dr Jonathan McGavock, PhD
The Children’s Hospital Research Institute of Manitoba
511 – 715 McDermot Avenue
Winnipeg, MB R3E 3P4
Ph: (204) 789-3591
Fax: (204) 977-5691

Pediatric Program Coordinating Committee:

Name Title E-mail
Eleanor MacDougall Coordinator emacdougall@hsc.mb.ca
Candace Schroeder Program Assistant PedsNorthernRural@hsc.mb.ca Phone:204-787-4008
Allison Bingham Chief Resident 1 aaebingham@gmail.com;
pedschief@exchange.hsc.mb.ca
Jessica Laks Chief Resident 2 jlaks@hsc.mb.ca; pedschief@exchange.hsc.mb.ca

Resident Research Committee:

Name Section E-mail
Allison Dart MD, MSc Pediatric Nephrology adart@hsc.mb.ca
Celia Rodd, MD, MSc Pediatric Endocrinology crodd@hsc.mb.ca
Atul Sharma, MD, MSc Centre for Healthcare Innovation Atul.sharma@umanitoba.ca
Kelly Russell, PhD Children\’s Hospital Research Institute of Manitoba krussell@chrim.ca
Kyle Millar, MD PGY1 – Resident kmillar@hsc.mb.ca
Vanessa Percy, MD PGY3 – Resident vpercy@hsc.mb.ca